The 2017 Online Radio Awards open for entries

Run by Mixcloud, the Online Radio Awards is the biggest celebration of online radio in the world, receiving thousands of entries every year. This year is set to be the best yet, with a total of 31 categories, including three new awards for the “Rising Stars” of online radio.

And it’s never been a more exciting time for online radio. Brand new stations are launching all over the world, while streaming services like Mixcloud continue to provide an essential platform for audio creators to reach new listeners.

First launched in 2014, the awards focus on independent radio, celebrating those who are already established in the scene, as well as helping raise the profiles of DJs, presenters, podcasters and those who work tirelessly running stations.

Previous winners include Nicole Moudaber, Soho Radio, JRocc, The Naked Scientists Podcast and Red Light Radio. This year, the best entries in each category will be shortlisted, before the winners are chosen by a panel of judges, all of whom are experts in the audio industry.

The 2017 awards include a total of 13 judges from around the globe, including the Director of Worldwide Bookings and Partnerships at Soulection, Julio Galvez, the Community Manager at Discogs, Liz Maddux, and the Co-Founder at Wonderfruit, Jason Swamy.

The deadline to enter this year’s awards is Sunday 20th August.

Anyone who has an online radio show or is involved in an online radio station can enter themselves to win an award, while fans and listeners can also nominate their friends or favourites. To have every chance of being shortlisted, entrants are encouraged to ask their friends and fans to nominate them for an award and can download these assets to share on social media.

For this year’s awards, Mixcloud has teamed up with a series of partners to help spread the word about the Online Radio Awards. The 2017 partners are Cómeme, Dimensions Festival, Discogs, Good Hope FM, Kiss FM, The Livescape Group, Music Is My Sanctuary, Resident Advisor, SXSW FM, The Find Magazine and Wonderfruit.

Visit to find out how to enter this year’s awards.